How I Get Started

I used to hang out at almost every cybercafe in my hometown after my SPM 2006. At that time I was still a stranger in the cyberspace but somehow I got into Youtube and hooked up with it since then. The first video I watch was a breakdance video clip, Gamblerz against Fantastic Armada.

The moment I saw bboy-soulsoy dance, that’s when I found a purpose to live. He inspired me to dance. ( I only knew his name few months later ) Immediately I did research about dancing. So the first dance art form that I learn is Breakdance or Bboy-ing.

Few months later, I went to Malacca to further studies in 2007. There, I met Integrity Groove ( IG crew ). They introduced me another art form of dance, hip hop dance. It was hard for me to accept the new art form at first but soon I started to excel Hip Hop dance much faster than Breakdance. As I practice with them, I witnessed more type of dance such as locking, popping, krumping and street jazz. It was a tremendous joy to dance with them but unfortunately, a year later I moved to Cyberjaya to continue my degree.

In 2008, I received an invitation to be in a dance crew some where in KL. I rejected that offered as they are 2 more dancer from IG crew also further their studies around KL. We made a promise to compete together as a team of 3 in KL, but we failed to do so. I felt so disappointed for that matter and also the fact that Cyberjaya’s residents are not that into dance.

During emerge 2009, my cellgroup leader got the initiative to get the whole cellgroup into the Emerge Got Talent. For the first time ever I have to teach people how to dance and I have to choreograph as well. I reluctantly agreed to do it but I thank God for this opportunity. It was the one thing that pushes me to the next level. Since then, I am confident to choreograph.

Suddenly in 2010, there was 2 dancer, or would likely to be known as, bboys, ¬†started an unofficial dance club and I joined them. It’s starting to get recognize in the campus now as they started to perform for several events.

So that’s probably how I started to dance and how I still continue to dance. I may stop writing here, but the journey continues out there…

Leave a Reply

