Thesaurus

Dinosaurs used to be my favorite when I was a kid. I like dinosaurs so much that I “rawr!” at my cats and dogs when they are sleeping. I can recognize them just by their look. No matter how different the dinosaurs were among them self, I always identified them easily.  Despite having unique look, the dinosaur possess scientific name that usually are long and difficult to pronounce. For example, Tyrannosaurs rex ( T-rex ), Ankylosaurus, Plesiosaurus, Apatosaurus, Lambeosaurus, Spinasaurus, Stegosaurus and so on. Most of their name end with the “ rus “ sound, and that is how I classified a name if it is a dinosaur or non-dinosaur.

One day, I saw the word “thesaurus”. I said to my self:”This must be a dinosaur’s name, I wonder how it look like.” So I search in the internet to find the answer, and it was so disappointing. It was the saddest moment of my dinosaur memories. I tried to search as much definition as I could but the fact is, Thesaurus, is not a dinosaur.

A thesaurus is a book that lists words grouped together according to similarity of meaning (containing synonyms and sometimes antonyms), in contrast to a dictionary, which contains definitions and pronunciations. In terms of information technology, it is use for information retrieval purpose. The word “thesaurus” is derived from 16th-century new Latin, in turn from Latin thesaurus, from ancient Greek  θησαυρός thesauros , meaning ” storehouse ” or ” treasury” (and thus the medieval rank of thesaurer was a synonym for treasurer). This meaning has been largely supplanted by Roget’s usage of the term.

I apologize in advanced that I will not talk more about thesaurus because I found it very sad, none of the description is about any dinosaurs. It’s ok, at least, now I know that not every word that end with the sound “ rus ” is a dinosaur’s name. Most importantly, I learned that sorceress is definitely not any dinosaurs.

1 Comment »

  1. yeeming said

    Yeah, I’ll be the 1st one to comment here 🙂
    Umm, I think you should write something about porridge or big mag. LOL!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

